Get Happy! (The Practical Health Coach says, “It’s way easier to be healthy when you’re happy.”)

It’s hard to be healthy if you’re unhappy. Motivation is harder, discipline is harder, well, life is harder. The last thing we want when we’re down is to challenge ourselves.

I’ve never been a miserable person, but today I’m a happy kind of person. It began when I decided to start my day with positivity. I’d love to take credit, but credit goes to a book that seemed to jump off the shelf at Borders one day about 8 years ago: Jeffrey Gitomer’s Little Gold Book of YES! Attitude. The book seemed to be screaming at me a lot of the time, but it started the habit that changed my life.

Mr. Gitomer suggests that we spend a bit of time reading positive, inspirational things every day for 10-15 minutes. When I read empowering messages I must make notes or write about what I’m experiencing in the moment. That is what led to my journaling habit.

There are a lot of people telling us to journal, begin a gratitude practice, change our thinking and change our minds, but for me, at that time, the whole thing seemed so new and fresh and I felt at home with the idea of reading motivational material daily. I am so grateful that I did, and you will be too.

It’s important to learn ways to raise your happiness level. Jeffrey Gitomer’s book is one way. Another is Shawn Achor’s book The Happiness Advantage. In this book, Mr. Achor talks about how putting positivity first improves intelligence, creativity, productivity and energy. He calls this the Happiness Advantage and during one of my favorite TED talks he outlined a simple process designed to achieve results in 21 days. (Watch the video. It could be the best twelve minutes of your life!)

Every day list three things you’re grateful for, journal on a positive experience that occurred in the last 24 hours, exercise, meditate, and perform an act of kindness such as sending a positive email praising or thanking someone in your social, family or work network.

I can attest to most the suggestions as I regularly journal and most days there is a lot of gratitude. I also exercise gently every morning, and meditate on many days. Wouldn’t you like to get happier? Who wouldn’t?

It’s easy to effect a change toward a better, more focused brain! For more information, I recommend one, or both of the books above. (At the very least, watch the video.)

Blessings,
Nancy Oglesby, The Practical Health Coach
simplifying healthy lifestyle changes™

Google

Leave a Reply

