Aldi Gluten Free: Good & Bad

Anyone who’s been to one of my Gluten Free 101 classes knows that I rave about Trader Joe’s Brown Rice Spaghetti Pasta and also recommend Tinkyada brand for those that don’t live near a Trader Joe’s Now Aldi has announced a new Gluten Free line of products and Aldi is just about everywhere. I was delighted when they announced a line of gluten-free products that included spaghetti pasta.

1 AldiAnd it’s good. It’s better than good. It’s better than a lot of the brands I’ve tried before. It’s also cheaper. The downside is that it doesn’t hold up well as leftovers. If you’re cooking and serving right away it’s fabulous, but after storing them in the fridge for a day, they have a bit of a funky taste and a terrible texture.

That’s a deal breaker for me, but I live by a Trader Joe’s where I can find a similar product that holds up great to storing for a few days. (I like to cook up a big batch for use in meals throughout the week.) For those of you without that luxury, this is a delicious way to scratch your pasta itch … Just don’t plan for leftovers!

The also offer things like pancakes, cornbread, pizza crust mix, pretzels and wraps. I’ve not tried those things because I rarely eat them. I’d love to include reviews from readers who’ve tried them! Drop an email to me if/when you do try them.

As I’ve said before, there is a lot of gluten free junk on the market! And, I have to admit that most of Aldi’s gluten free line is just junk: Brownies, cookies, etc. but that’s true of most products specifically designed for a gluten-free diet and if you’re looking for something as a special treat they might be worth a look since they’re a lot less expensive than what you find in most stores.

Even if you’re not considering going gluten free, it’s not a bad idea to find alternatives and reduce the amount of gluten in your diet, and finding products at a reasonable price makes it much easier.

Remember that I get rave reviews as a speaker and have a list of classes on my website. Does your church group want to learn more about getting healthy? Do the members of your Women’s Group want to get a handle on cravings and emotional eating? I teach a great class about that!  Just click here for more information.

Buon Appetito!
Nancy Oglesby, the Practical Health Coach
Simplifying Healthy Lifestyle Choices

 

Google

Leave a Reply

