Smoothies Made Easy

As we discussed, Breakfast is For Champions! In my opinion, the best way to start your day is with a nutrient-packed fruit smoothie that’s easy to prepare, tastes great and packs a protein punch.

So, here’s how to create a fabulous smoothie designed just for you!

YUM! Apple, Kale, Strawberry Smoothie

YUM! Apple, Kale, Strawberry Smoothie

GREENS (2 Cups)
spinach, kale,* romaine, escarole, dandelion greens, chard, beet greens
(I buy Trader Joe’s Organic Kale in a bag already clean and ready to go. I freeze it then crush it to really small pieces. That way it doesn’t take up as much room and when you add 1 cup it’s like you’re adding 2+ cups.)

FRUIT (1-2)(preferably frozen)
organic apple*, berries*, grapes*, banana, peach*, plums, pineapple*, mango
To freeze, prepare (quarter apples, cut pineapples, etc.), lay out on a parchment paper-lined cookie sheet, put in freezer. When frozen, put into freezer bags. (I freeze my grapes and berries whole.)

VEGGIES (0-2)
carrots*, celery, cucumber*, green beans, broccoli
Often I use carrots or cucumber instead of the second fruit.

PROTEIN (1)
Plain Greek yogurt (1/2-1c), Protein Powder (I use Sun Warrior Raw Vegan Protein Powder. I’m something of a fanatic about the quality and not a fan of soy- or dairy-based protein powders. Sun Warrior is about $42 a bag, which is 40 servings, so it equals $1/serving. As an Amazon Prime member, I don’t pay shipping so it’s pretty cost-effective. I figure I’m worth the best, and so are you! However, feel free to use what works for you.)

LIQUID (1c+ this depends on your blender and preference)
kombucha*, filtered water, coconut water, coconut milk*, 100% cherry juice*, almond milk. (I mix kombucha, coconut milk and cherry juice)
Kombucha is fermented green tea that adds good bacteria to your digestive system. I buy GT’s, but usually make my own. If you develop a taste for it, I would be happy to show you how to make it. It’s easy and really inexpensive!

ADD-INS
Avocado (makes it thick and smooth), parsley, raw honey, bee pollen (if you’re not allergic), wheat grass, ginger, protein powder*, lemon*, chia*, flax*, barley grass powder.

This is an outline for you to use as you learn what you like in your green smoothies. I use a Ninja or a NutriBullet. I used to use a Oster Classic Beehive and my liquid was always good at 1/2-3/4c.

I encourage you to try this and see how much better you feel at the end of the week! If you have any questions, or would like to share your recipe, please comment below. Thanks for spending a few minutes with me,

Nancy Oglesby, The Practical Health Coach

3 thoughts on “Smoothies Made Easy

  1. Pingback: How to Pack for the Journey | HealthWorksKC

  2. Pingback: Challenge #1: I Challenge You to … | HealthWorksKC

  3. Pingback: Cool Down with a Smoothie |

Leave a Reply

