Healthy & Fit Over 50 Movement Tip #2

I love a quote from Ellen DeGeneres, “My grandmother started walking five miles a day when she was sixty. She’s ninety-seven now, and we don’t know where the heck she is.”

I love it because I started walking around the block when I was 59 or 60 and before I knew it I was walking two miles a day, easy. This past spring and summer I averaged five miles a day.

It is always easy for me to step out the front door. Not only do I have to take Mikey, The Wonder Dog for his walk but, I give myself permission to just walk around the block. That’s what works for me: a pesky pup and optional laziness. If I were to tell myself, “Time to go walk three miles,” I know there would be many days that I’d say, “I do NOT feel like walking three miles. I’ll just stay home today.” Instead, I averaged five miles a day!

Leave a Reply

