Kale, Collards & Scrambled Eggs

What leafy greens did you eat today? I am really lucky because my neighbor has a HUGE collard green patch and she gave me a bag of just-picked goodness so I added some of my curly kale fresh from my garden and cooked it up in a quarter cup of water. When it was tender I chopped it up, added some chopped onion and broccoli and sauteed it all together. When the onion was tender and slightly caramelized I poured a scrambled egg over the top and cooked it to perfection … Served with a side of ice cold watermelon and I was in heaven! By the way, the egg was from a different neighbor’s sister’s homestead. Am I spoiled or what?

For lunch I added the remaining greens (and cooking water) to my leftover homemade vegan split pea soup. It didn’t look like much, but it was delicious! I chose Missouri peaches and a handful of cherries for a side.

Greens are soooo good for you and now is the time to find them locally. Add them to smoothies, omelettes, salads and soups for some serious nutrition!

Greens are full of vitamins and phytonutrients. They improve circulation, purify the blood, strengthen the immune system, reduce cardiovascular disease and diabetes risk, protect against macular degeneration … and they lift the spirit.

Imagine what your life would  be like if you had clear thinking, energy & excitement every day … if you were leaner and stronger! As a Certified Health Coach, I am your Personal Trainer for Lifestyle & Nutrition! I work with you to create an energized and passionate life, helping you develop a happy, healthy lifestyle in a way that is flexible, fun and free of denial and discipline. Working together, we will discover the food and lifestyle choices that best support you. Making gradual, lifelong changes enables you to reach your current and future health goals. For more information, or to contact me, visit my website at www.HealthWorksKC.com

Leave a Reply

