Thanks Thursday – Cod & Veggie Soup

Okay, just to be honest, that doesn’t even sound good to me, but … I am going low-carb for a while and since I don’t eat much meat or soy my protein choices are limited. I wasn’t looking forward to this breakfast. I’ve made it before, and not loved it, but this time I was working at home and put it on to simmer slowly so I could get a project completed.  It was fantastic! The key has to be the slow simmer. The fishy flavor from previous quick cooking attempts was gone and in its place was a rich, totally un-fishy broth … delicious!

Whether for lunch or dinner you have got to try this out for yourself. Here’s the recipe:

  • 4 oz. cod (mine was frozen in 4 oz. portions)
  • 1 1/3 c vegetable broth
  • 1/2  c frozen broccoli florets *optional
  • 1/3 c chopped greens *optional

I use a combo of Edward and Sons Low Sodium UnChicken and unBeef bouillon. Each cube makes 2 cups so I make 4 cups, divvy it up 3 ways and store it in the fridge or freezer.

Put broth and cod in small pot, I used a low heat and it simmered for close to an hour. I added the broccoli florets in the last 15 minutes. I often add greens, today I didn’t.

I apologize for no picture … I really didn’t expect to be writing about it!

Leave a Reply

