Thankful Thursday – God’s Gifts

I am thankful for my dog Lena. She was a gift from God. I took her out of a breeder’s kennel when she was one-year old. They told me she knew her name and ‘no’ but she didn’t know either of those things. She’d never had a treat; didn’t know what to do with it when we stopped at a rest stop on the way home. She learned quickly.

She slept by my side after my husband died. She would run for the other end of the house when I sneezed. She knew, from anywhere in the house if I shed a tear and came to sit in my lap.

She loved to control the food dish and only when she gave him the signal was Mikey the Wonder Dog allowed to eat. I could never discern the signal.

She would use food to control where Mike could go in the house, dropping little pieces around my chair so he couldn’t come by the mommy or across the entryway between living and dining rooms so he was stuck on whatever side we weren’t on. I’d hear him whining and see him squirming out of the corner of my eye, look down, and sure enough there was a little line of about eight kibbles between us while Lena was laying on her side watching his every move looking nonchalant … yeah … right.

For the last year she has gone for walks by riding in a stroller. Her arthritis prevented her from walking more than half a block. She truly thought she was the Queen Bee, sitting up, ears perked forward, watching everything and everyone. People smiled big when they saw Princess Lena in her carriage.

Lena left us today. I am thankful for her loving presence for the last 12 ½ years. She was my snuggle-bucket and my favorite bundle o’ hairs. She has been released from pain and is joyfully nipping at the backs of Jimmy O’s knees.

I love you, eenie. Thank you, God, for the gift of my Lena.

2 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday – God’s Gifts

  1. Pat

    I’m so sorry to hear your sad news. My little buddy left just before thanksgiving. It’s so hard to give them up.

    Reply
  2. lorriek496

    Nancy I’m so sorry to hear of your loss of Lena. Our animals are family, and losing a pet is losing a dear soul. My thoughts are with you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

